Kitting Up

One of my favorite things about stitching: organizing and kitting up materials for new starts! Yesterday I kitted up TWO new projects.


First up is another Ink Circles- “Get Kraken.” I am using most of her DMC substitutions for the silk with two WWD. I found beautiful linen called “Wren” by Picture this Plus (40 ct.). Ive even picked out some beads to try with this pattern. I love this designer’s sense of humor!


The next new start is a really special pattern: Nora Corbett’s Halloween Fairy (though I’ve heard it referred to as the Trick or Treat Fairy). When I saw it on Pinterest, I fell in LOVE. I downloaded this pattern directly from the magazine company (Herrschners) this first appeared in. My mom is actually going to stitch along with me, so I’m really excited about that- her first time with evenweave, beads, and “special” hand dyed fabric. I am using all the charted threads, but I will stitching on BEAUTIFUL linen also from Picture this Plus called “Haunted.” I’m over the moon with this start, so I think At the Met will not be my first Mirabilia/Nora Corbett. 

And speaking of At the Met– I messed up big time, and it’s kind of embarrassing. I had recently ordered the extra packets of beads thought I needed (I’m still waiting of the package). But while kitting up the other two patterns, I found that I had actually ordered the beads back in January. Whoops. I guess I need to keep another crafty notebook dedicated just to purchases to keep track of EVERYTHING CRAFTY THING I BUY. C’est la vie!

I hope you all are having a wonderful week, and happy stitching!

3 thoughts on “Kitting Up

  1. Great new projects – Kraken is one of the few ICs I haven’t stashed, yet 🙂 I will eventually… Halloween Fairy was my first NC design – her older designs just never grabbed me, at all. I did not know that you could download this now – that’s good to know, because people flip through my old finishes album every now & then and ask if I still have my chart (I don’t – I sent those pages to a friend years ago).

    My kits all have their own ziplock bag, and I also make spreadsheets for the material lists, so I can mark stuff off when I have it and make notes and such. And I have a master spreadsheet that “usually” keeps me from buying the same thing twice. Usually 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

