Messing Up, Or Fifty Shades of White

Hello Stitchers!

My niece’s pattern is turning out to be quite the headache! There are many shades of white, and I have had to cut out and start over because of so many mistakes. My mantra for this project: my niece NEEDS this cross stitch. I’m even jazzing the pattern up with some glitter thread and Mill Hill beads. I am determined to make this a keepsake for her that she will love. 

While pursuing my locally owned craft store for the aforementioned beads, I became overwhelmed and got the glorious idea to try a bigger knitting project. My grandma gave me this afghan pattern a few years ago along with her latest (unfinished) afghan so that I could try my hand at more interesting patterns:
It is a two-colored pattern with just purls and knit stitches and some k2tog thrown in. I chickened out big time and just bound off what she gave me. It is a lovely lap blanket/shawl-thingy. So then and there at the craft store, I dialed my grandma asking how many skeins I would need to make the full sized afghan from her favorite pattern.

I was so determined that I even decided that I would make the afghan with three stripes instead of two. Because I like to make things more complicated for myself apparently. So I chose three colors that aren’t too girly to appease the male members of the house (I was totally going for mustard yellow, red, and some Fall beige). It took me FOREVER to decide on these colors. I was even describing the colors over the phone to my ever patient grand-duchess, saint grandmother Patricia.

This yarn is from the Ole Faithful brand of Red Heart Super Saver in Grey Heather, Lavender, and Windsor Blue. 

I can’t wait to begin, but I’m nervous. I’ve never knitted anything this size before. And as I’ve said, I’ve always chickened out on this pattern.

Funny how I was upset last post about having to cancel some projects because I got too stressed! I guess you can’t stop inspiration or the need for creative outlets.

Happy stitching and enjoy the rest of the weekend!

3 thoughts on “Messing Up, Or Fifty Shades of White

  1. My Lady & Unicorn is 50 shades of RED, so I feel ya on your white – which has to be even harder! But it will wonderful when done 🙂 I look forward to seeing your afghan come together – knitting & crochet are things I’d realllyyy like to learn, one of these days…

    Like

Leave a Reply

