WIP & Back to School

Hello stitchers!

Loving the weather- not too hot, not too cold. Bilbo is definitely enjoying his favorite thing:sunbathing; I really think this dog is part cat…


I got a lot done on my new project this weekend. More importantly, I got to stitch with my mom- my favorite stitching buddy! She always has awesome patterns she’s working on.


Secondly, to the non-stitchy stuff, which I’m always wary about publishing here because the intent of my blog is a personal journal of my cross stitch and crafty adventures, but here it goes: Pushing yourself is one of the hardest things to do. Personally, fear and anxiety always hold me; and honestly, sometimes I feel like prayers don’t soothe me (which I’m working on), and they definitely aren’t a quick fix yet. However, after going back and forth since late undergrad, I have decided to go back to school so I can do what I think I’m supposed to do with the rest of my life. Last night, I made the trek to Barnes and Noble’s and bought my ginormous GRE study book. Huge step for me- it’s a start of a commitment to this- something I’ve been so scared to do. I even took my first practice test last night; math is definitely going to be my focus. I’m already working on my letter of intent and checking deadlines (I missed Fall, so I’d be starting Spring semester). And I’m nervous.

Yep, I’ve finally decided to close my eyes and take the plunge and go to and get my graduate degree in Library Science! As an undergrad I worked in our library’s Preservation department. It was so crafty and calm to repair books. I loved the people I worked with. I fell in love being apart of a community of librarians who loved reading and books (just to be around them) as much as I did. I’m proud to be so in love with reading, and I have a big desire to help promote literacy (especially among adults- I feel like a lot of education programs only focus on kids, which is awesome, but I would like to find out ways to get more adults in love with books too).

So now I have direction, and for that I am very thankful. I will be busy with prepping for the GRE, STILL applying for jobs, and of course, cross stitching!

9 thoughts on “WIP & Back to School

  1. I think it’s great that you’ve decided to take plunge and get back to studying.
    I followed a couple of home-schooling courses in recent years, more for the intellectual stimulus than anything else, and I found it very rewarding on a personal level.

    Like

    • Thanks, Claire! I find it very hard not to be learning new stuff constantly. I guess being in school forever has made it necessary for me. Congrats on your courses! 🙂

      Like

  2. Bilbo, you’re so sweet! you’re getting a bunch of belly kisses from me!!
    and how cool is it that you can stitch with your mom?! that’s something I’ve always wanted but, alas, mom’s only needlework interest is crochet 😦
    I think it’s great that you chose to go back to your studies, and repairing books sounds really cool to me! 💖

    Like

    • He loves it! 😀 I love stitching with my mom- she’s the one who taught me. We live in different cities though so most of the time we’re texting WIP pictures back and forth and facetiming to show off what we’re working on. Thank you for reading; I had so much fun working at the library so I’m hoping to find a job in one while going back! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you live right on the water? It looks so beautiful!

    Congratulations on your decision to go back to grad school!!! That is so exciting and brave!!! I’m looking forward to reading more about it!

    Like

    • Thanks, Fawn! It is a scary decision and one that I’ve put off for a while. We have a small lake in the backyard. Townhouses and apartments line the rim. It’s nice and relaxing (but the snakes- like cottonmouths- are awful in the summer! :\), and it’s Bilbo’s favorite spot!

      Like

  4. Your stitching is looking wonderful. I think it’s great that your Mom is your stitching buddy. That is so awesome! Congrats on your decision and first step to further your education. I think it’s wonderful and I am sure you will do great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

