WIP Wednesday

Hello all! Happy New Year’s Eve (and Happy New Year’s Day, in advance)!

I am still stitching away on last week’s WIP Poppies. This week, I also picked up a project that I started last summer (as in 2013). It’s interesting how when you look at a piece you stitched or are stitching, you can recall what was going on in your life at the time. For instance with this piece, I was still in college and living in a dark, damp, cramped, small basement apartment in my hometown. I was nursing extreme anxiety with my nights full of cross stitching and Poirot episodes (and yes I admit, Murder She Wrote; I am complete fan- it doesn’t matter how young or old you are, Angela Lansbury is amazing). I wanted a piece that was bright and cheerful. I saw this pattern in The World of Cross Stitching magazine, and I fell in love with it. I also have never grown out of loving anthropomorphic animals in stories and shows. I will also never grow out of it. So, this was an ode to all of the happiness of nature and of fairy tales.

mousecaravan

The original artwork by Helz Cuppleditch has a river flowing alongside the caravan. I’m debating on how to add this detail into my stitched piece as it was not in the pattern itself.

Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

